Berritt

I’m a superstar masquerading as a nerd, but you knew that, right?

Gumbo Ya-Ya! March 11, 2009

Filed under: Everything — berritt @ 2:49 am

Since I found the Holy Grail this morning, Roux in the microwave!, I had to make Gumbo. I’ve stood sweating, feet aching, for a good hour at a time making roux on the stove top. No more! You’d have thought I won the lottery with this discovery. Apparently, everyone else already knew about it. Welcome to the party, Berritt! Better late than never.

Here’s my gumbo recipe. It sometimes changes, sometimes I add parsley. Sometimes not. Sometimes I add a whole, cut up chicken. Today I used boneless thighs. Once I bought all the spices separately and made my own cajun seasoning. But the McCormicks is pretty good. And I’m lazy like that. 4 kids will do that to you. I don’t even have exact measurements. My instructions are taste, season. Taste, season… until you get it right. And you’ll know when it’s right.

gumbo1

You need a big pot.
Chicken. Whole, cut up. Or boneless skinless thighs. Those worked out well.
Andouille sausage, cut up. Hot links will work in a pinch.
About 1.5C roux
butter and vegetable oil
2 stalks celery, chopped
1 green pepper, chopped
1 sweet onion, chopped
chicken broth
cajun seasoning
salt
file powder
green onions
white rice, cooked

Melt a bunch of butter in your pot. Brown sausage and chicken. Remove from pan and set aside.
Add microwave roux to pot(Try it, I swear, it tastes EXACTLY the same) Roux should be really dark brown. like this:
gumbo2

Add chopped celery, green pepper and sweet onion. Cook until veggies are soft-ish. Add broth (I used one container) Add chicken and sausage. Add cajun seasoning, pinch at a time until it tastes good. Add salt a pinch at a time until it’s salty enough. You may not be hungry when it’s done. There’s a lot of tasting involved.
gumbo31

Simmer gumbo while you prepare the rice. I love a rice cooker for this. It always turns out perfect.

When the rice is done, and the chicken is falling apart, serve it up. If you cooked the chicken on the bones, take the bones out.
Add a scoop of rice to the bottom of a bowl. Ladle gumbo all around it. Sprinkle with File and green onion.
gumbo4

 

4 Responses to “Gumbo Ya-Ya!”

  1. Amy Says:

    Dangit Berritt, now I’m really hungry!

    • berritt Says:

      It was really good, too. I feel like a dud for not knowing about the microwave method. You have no idea how many hours of my life have been spent making roux.

      • Amy Says:

        Nah, I would have never known about it either if my SIL had never told me about it.

        I need to try your recipe!

  2. Sheila Says:

    I’m making this tonight! SOOO excited!


Leave a Reply

